The Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP)

Your excellent Graduate School in Germany

The Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP) is a top tier interdisciplinary graduate school in Germany that provides an integrated MSc and PhD program (or "PhD only") in Photonics for excellent graduates from all over the world. We offer:

Full funding - no tuition fees

So you can fully concentrate on learning and researching, you will receive generous grants from us (during study phase) or full positions (during research phase).

Excellent teaching and research facilities

The laboratories and teaching facilities of our partner institutions make the student's heart beat faster - because excellent research needs excellent equipment.

An outstanding network of world-renowned Fellows

During your PhD, you'll be supervised by one of our MPSP Fellows and receive support and knowledge from the entire Fellow network.

Very good industry contacts for your career start

Academia, industry or your own startup? Regardless of what the career path should look like, the MPSP ideally prepares you for it through training and contacts.



THE MPSP PROGRAM

THE STUDY PHASE - Your MSc Program

If you join the MPSP with a Bachelor's degree (=undergraduate), you first complete the 2-year "study phase". During this first phase, you obtain a master’s degree in photonics at one of our three teaching universities.

THE RESEARCH PHASE - Your PhD Project

After the study phase (or if you apply with a qualifying MSc degree) you can start your research project. In the 3-year "research phase" you conduct your doctoral project in photonics under supervision of our MPSP Fellows.

WHY PHOTONICS?

  • Photonics is a dynamic physical science which focusses on light itself, (the photon) creation, manipulation, control and photonics applications in everyday life.
  • Photonics is the key technology for various research areas and innovative branches of industry, which drives technological development in the 21st century. As the 20th century was for electronics, this century is expected to be the age of photonics.

If you are a graduate with a background in physics, engineering or a related field, Photonics is your chance to enlighten the world with your research and work. With a PhD in photonics, you will have numerous career opportunities in both academia and industry.

WHY STUDY PHOTONICS IN GERMANY?

Germany is one of the leading Photonics nations in Europe and the whole world. German researchers at universities and non-universitarian research institutions produce excellent contributions to all photonics-related disciplines and fields - from attosecond physics to quantum optics, from fundamental research to industry-oriented applications.

At the Max Planck School of Photonics, we connect the brightest minds from diverse institutions to give our candidates access to their combined knowledge and cutting-edge research. You can join research groups of your choice and contribute to ground breaking research.




NEWS AND EVENTS


Blog

Go to Editor View

Die Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP)

Die exzellente Graduiertenschule in Deutschland

Die Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP) ist eine internationle und interdisziplinäre Graduiertenschule, die sehr guten Absolvent*innen im Bereich Physik und Elektroingenieurwesen ein integriertes MSc und PhD Programm (bzw. nur PhD Programm) im Bereich "Photonics" anbietet. Was die MPSP einzigartig macht:

Volle Finanzierung - keine Studiengebühren

Damit unsere Promovierenden sich voll und ganz aufs Lernen und Forschen konzentrieren können, bekommen sie Stipendien (in der Study Phase) bzw. volle Mitarbeiter-Stellen (in der Research Phase).

Ausgezeichnete Lehr- und Forschungseinrichtungen

Die Labore und Lehreinrichtungen unserer Partnerinstitutionen lassen das Studierenden-Herz höher schlagen - denn nur mit exzellenter Ausstattung kann exzellente Forschung entstehen.

Ein herausragendes Netzwerk weltbekannter Fellows

Während ihres PhDs werden die Promovierenden von einem unserer MPSP Fellows betreut und bekommen Support und Wissen aus dem ganzen Fellow-Netzwerk.

Sehr gute Verbindungen zur Industrie

Academia, Industrie oder doch ein eigenes Startup? Egal wie der Karriereweg aussehen soll, die MPSP bereitet durch Trainings und Kontakte ideal darauf vor.



DAS MPSP PROGRAMM

DIE "STUDY PHASE" - Das Master Programm

Bewerber*innen mit einem qualifizierenden Bachelor-Abschluss (z.B. in Physik oder Elektroingenieurwesen) starten zunächst in die "Study Phase" der MPSP. In dieser ersten Phase absolvieren Sie ihr Masterstudium an einer unserer drei Lehruniversitäten in Erlangen, Jena oder Karlsruhe.

DIE "RESEARCH PHASE" - Das PhD Projekt

Nach der Study Phase (oder wenn schin ein qualifizierender MSc Abschluss vorliegt) starten die Promovierenden dann in ihr Forschungsprojekt. In der 3-Jährigen "Research Phase" forschen sie mit einem unserer MPSP Fellows an ihren Promotionsprojekten im Bereich "Photonics".

WARUM PHOTONICS?

  • Die Photonik ist eine dynamische physikalische Wissenschaft, die sich auf das Licht selbst (das Photon), seine Erzeugung, Manipulation, Steuerung und Anwendung im täglichen Leben konzentriert
  • Photonik ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie für verschiedene Forschungsbereiche und innovative Industriezweige, die die technologische Entwicklung im 21. Jahrhundert vorantreibt.

Wenn Sie einen Abschluss in Physik, Ingenieurwesen oder einem verwandten Bereich haben, ist Photonik Ihre Chance, mit Ihrer Forschung und Arbeit Licht ins Dunkel zu bringen. Mit einem Doktortitel in Photonik haben Sie zahlreiche Karrieremöglichkeiten sowohl in der Wissenschaft als auch in der Industrie.

WIESO AN DER MPSP STUDIEREN?

Deutschland ist eine der führenden Photoniknationen in Europa und der ganzen Welt. Deutsche Forscher an Universitäten und nichtuniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen liefern hervorragende Beiträge zu allen Disziplinen und Bereichen der Photonik - von der Attosekundenphysik bis zur Quantenoptik, von der Grundlagenforschung bis zu industrieorientierten Anwendungen.

An der Max Planck School of Photonics verbinden wir die besten Köpfe verschiedener Institutionen, um unseren Promovierenden Zugang zu ihrem kombinierten Wissen und der neuesten Forschung zu verschaffen. Schließ dich einer spannenden Forschungsgruppe an und trage zu bahnbrechender Forschung bei!.




NEWS UND EVENTS


Blog

Women in Photonics - Eventserie

10. März 2021
There are already many great women in science - but not nearly enough! In photonics in particular, many intelligent young women shy away from a career as a scientist and a PhD. Three of our MPSP PhD candidates have nevertheless dared to step into science and now want to encourage other young women.
Zur Redakteursansicht